I would like people's opinions on Kew High School?

Good, bad & indifferent comments welcome.... we are contemplating it as an option for our children? But i am struggling to find reviews on the standard of education and the school in general. All feedback would be appreciated.
The opinions expressed here are those of the individual and not those of Homely.com.au.
9 people following
this discussion
Report

8 Comments

samanthal3 Jun 25, 2017
As a current student of Kew high school I do not recommend that you send your children there. Buildings are infested with asbestos. Teachers don't know what they are teaching. The schools main and only focus is the presentation of the school to get new students to raise their funding from the gorverment. Their is also a major bullying problem at the school. To add to it the school is known to be a druggy/alcohol school.
Report
The opinions expressed here are those of the individual and not those of Homely.com.au.
mwtt Theodora Aug 29, 2017
Don't have first hand experience but going by recent VCE results it's one of the top performing government schools in Melbourne so academic standard is very good.
Report
The opinions expressed here are those of the individual and not those of Homely.com.au.
anon- Feb 11, 2018
I unfortunately went to Kew High School. It was a place where I was belittled, insulted and discouraged from learning by teachers. Out of the numerous examples I could give, which include a Literature teacher barely attending to teach our class in Year 12 or a Math teacher who took great satisfaction from declaring to the class I had done poorly on a test, perhaps the one that comes to mind strongest is towards the end of Year 12, we were asked to choose our preferences for university as we had set up our VTAC accounts in class. As I was doing so, the co-ordinator of our year level, sneaks behind me and very openly states to myself and the entire class that I shouldn't bother doing so because I wasn't going go to University. Since then, I have completed two Bachelor degrees and I am currently close to completing my Masters Degree at a prestigious University overseas. Absolutely ZERO thanks to this school or its teachers.
Report
The opinions expressed here are those of the individual and not those of Homely.com.au.
calp May 21, 2018
I left Kew High last year because I was badly bullied and harassed by older boys. the environment at KHS is very male dominated, and the learning is not good. The teachers are of poor quality, I found learning very hard there, because especially in math it was either you were really good at math or you weren't very good, and the not very good people including me weren't properly helped to understand the topic, instead we were sometimes scolded for it by staying behind in class and copying down the whiteboard. there was almost no day when I had math at the end of the day when I didn't miss my bus to get home because we would have to stay in, not getting any better idea of the topic we were meant to be learning, just catching up on it.
I personally do not recommend this school.
Report
The opinions expressed here are those of the individual and not those of Homely.com.au.
quinb Jul 18, 2018
Kew High has some reasonable teaching staff and some teachers that teach in a way that is easy to understand. However Kew High has poor management and some teachers who care about others students rather than you. They also are not very good at making a differing curriculum so days feel similar. In terms of VCE results a lot of kids drop out in year ten so only the ones who actually put in work stay. Overall Kew High has not accurately set there students up. I think if your children put in then teachers will see this and reward them. If they enjoy volleyball also then yeah send them here but not if they don’t like worksheets or teachers who don’t understand topics as they should. In terms of VCE results the student puts in a lot themselves without teacher help so if your child is hard work then yes.
Report
The opinions expressed here are those of the individual and not those of Homely.com.au.
amelian1 Aug 13, 2018
I think Kew High is academically a place to study VCE, their results are quite good because of a sort of international students start from year 10 and 11. I found interesting studying in Kew High because to me, teachers are helpful but sometimes the coordinators are quite rigid, they require students to obey them (as an Asian, I feel that's okay). If your kids just concentrate on study , work hard to get into excellent universities such as Melbourne or Monash, you should send them their. However, if you want your children to play sports, do extracurriculars, study in school with good facilities, you should send to Blackburn High/Doncaster SC (but consider that many Chinese-based students).
Report
The opinions expressed here are those of the individual and not those of Homely.com.au.
lizh14 Sep 22, 2018
My son is currently studying year 12 at Kew High.
I have found the experience to be overall very good. There will always be positives and negatives at a school. It is the same at all schools and workplaces, organizations etc. how you deal with those experiences is formative. Kew High teachers seem very supported by the school generally. There is open communication throughout the school. Like everything in life, you get out what you put in. If you want your child spoonfed then send them to a private school. If you are prepared to help your child develop into an open minded responsible adult with respect for others and their chosen paths, then I personally think the school is good.
There are plenty of drugs and alcohol issues especially via weekend shindigs at private residences (what are those parents thinking is OK?) as is the case at every school Australia wide. We are talking about teenagers here. I have found the school to be supportive, balaced and responsible in it's attitude towards the issues affecting the individual.
There is plenty of help via Chaplaincy and co-ordinators if you want to engage. Many of the teachers offer high standards as role models. There are plenty of male teachers at the school.
My son has met some great friends, kids who are from good loving homes, he has learnt to deal with the choices available to him in a supported open environment.
I would certainly send him to the school with the hindsight I now possess. Life is not just an ATAR, although my son should achieve a good one through the school, via his own hard work and the journey he has had at Kew High.
Report
The opinions expressed here are those of the individual and not those of Homely.com.au.
Bibbi BC Oct 28, 2018
As we referred to Kew High in the 80's: KEW HOLE
Report
The opinions expressed here are those of the individual and not those of Homely.com.au.

Add a comment