I need an honest opinion is Melton a rough place to live or is it family friendly?

The opinions expressed here are those of the individual and not those of Homely.com.au.
55 people following
this question
Report

34 Answers

You must be joking BaysideGirl, unsure & all other nay sayers.... how old are you guys, are you guys blowing smoke out your backsides... STOP Lying to people with false information, where do you derive your statistics? I grew up in Collingwood then moved to Northcote and now in Melton South and I can definitely say Melton looks like a holiday destination in comparison to Collingwood & almost on par with Northcote. But don't take my word for it, here are the stats on an interactive map.

http://www.smh.com.au/data-point/blogs/the-crunch--data-point/crime-in-victoria--get-the-data-20130403-2h639.html

To get you started however and as a point of reference, by crime rate per 100,000 people;

Hawthorn = 7,271
Northcote = 7,347
Hoppers Crossing = 7,770
Sandringham = 8,216
Melton South / Brookfield / Eynsbury / Exford (yes they are combined, same post code) = 8,130
Epping = 10,346
Melton = 10,811
Frankston = 12,877
Prahran = 14,708
South Melbourne = 20,390
Ardeer = 20,432
Campbellfield = 22,535
Collingwood / Fitzroy = 22,951
Melbourne CBD = 65,440

I don't know about anyone else but Melton South looks pretty good to me. Its people like you, with a name like bayside girl and unsure (likely a non Melton resident or someone who has trouble follow them) who give Melton a bad Stigma when its not deserved. The stats speak for themselves, People like you add to the Stigma and smart investors use this to keep Melton under the radar as one of Melbourne best kept Secrets. Dirt Cheap with high rental yield, Not too far from Melbourne, Sunbury, Weribee, Geelong, Ballarat, Hepburn Springs, etc.... The area is one of Melbournes fastest growing areas and has one of the best ratios of population to job ratio.

I think people keep giving Melton a bad rep but it truly is a hidden gem that people will likely look back in the future and wonder why they didn't see it becoming a prime position to invest / live, the simple answer will be that they didn't do there homework.

The problem with some people is they look at stats such as the Vic Police website crime stats aka My place found here; http://www.vicpolicenews.com.au/my-place.html

This only highlights the region as a whole despite you typing in your postcode and expecting it to return results being suburb specific, this is where most people get it wrong. In other words what im saying is, when you type the postcode for melton south, the stats will bring up regiona & devision info and will include Melton South, Melton & include a whole bunch of surrounding suburbs that are included in the division and the stats are then compiled, but even then you will see that the Melton (Brimbank) Region isnt as bad as people think.

Melton and surrounds come up as north west metro division 3, there are a total of 4 divisions not including Melbourne CBD (division 1). Division 3 then is identified as Brimbank Region which includes the following Suburbs;
Albanvale, Albion, Ardeer, Brooklyn (shared with the City of Hobsons Bay), Cairnlea, Calder Park, Deer Park, Delahey, Derrimut, Hillside (shared with the Shire of Melton), Kealba, Keilor, Keilor Downs, Keilor East (shared with the City of Moonee Valley), Keilor Lodge, Keilor North, Keilor Park, Kings Park, St Albans, Sunshine (see Sunshine Residents and Ratepayers Association), Sunshine North, Sunshine West, Sydenham, Taylors Lakes, Tullamarine (shared with the Cities of Hume & Moreland)

The total Crime (per 100,000) for Brimbank (Division 3) of North West Metro Region = 7,881.4

That Said, I will show you how wrong many people are about Melton and its surrounds, but keep in mind most people bring up the stats from Vic Police Website and don't zone in on the suburb itself, but again even as a region you will be very surprised with the findings.

Darebin Region which happens to be part of the North West Metro Region but is classed as (division 5)

Suburbs in this region = Alphington (Shared with the City of Yarra), Bundoora (Shared with the Cities of Banyule and Whittlesea), Coburg (Shared with the City of Moreland A few properties, primarily the eastern side of Elizabeth Street, lie within Darebin), Coburg North (Shared with the City of Moreland A few properties, primarily the eastern side of Elizabeth Street, lie within Darebin), Fairfield (Shared with the City of Yarra), Kingsbury, Macleod (Shared with the City of Banyule), Northcote, Preston, Reservoir, Thornbury.

So what is the crime per 100,000 in this division?
Darebin crime = 9,696.4

WOW, Thats almost 2,000 more crimes in Darebin. I have lived in Darebin and can tell you I would leave doors unlocked, keys in car, Windows opened. Seriously I felt 100% safe in Northcote. That said individualy Northcote isnt far off in crime per 100,000 than Melton South & I can tell you I feel pretty safe there too. It comes down to this, Trouble Follows Trouble. If you live a Troublesome Life,Id say Trouble will follow you, generally if you dont bother anyone and not an idiot you will generally be OK in any Suburb.

I will list some more regions for comparison (now that you got the drift of how the vic police site presents its data please look up the regions for yourself to see the included suburbs)

SO we already have;

Brimbank Region = 7,881.4
Darebin Region = 9,696.4

Now some others;
Moorabin Region = 6,257.0
Westgate Region = 7,859.9
Fawkner Region = 9,459.6
Frankston Region = 10,407.3
Dandenong Region = 10,527.0
Prahran Region = 10,834.0

As you can See, the Brimbank Region doesn't look so bad after all.

Stop believing the opinions of unqualified people or people who have had a bad experience in the area, There is Good and Bad Everywhere. Be good and people will generally be good to you. Don't attract trouble into your life and there likely will be little trouble in life. Do your own research and and interpret the data properly, You wont often find people like me who work as an analyst (not in real estate, in IT, but nonetheless I'm a sucker for numbers and percentages) and will make life easy by answering your question (Properly might I Add) I back up my word with references.

SO STOP LISTENING TO THE PEOPLE WHO DON'T KNOW SQUAT AND START RESEARCHING FOR YOURSELF.

I really do hope this helps people, nothing worse than making the wrong decision based on false information. At least you have the references to the data and can make a decision for yourselves rather than someone else making it for you. Please do research the links I have provided, they provide valuable insight and disprove the naysayers.

Good luck.
9 votes
Report
The opinions expressed here are those of the individual and not those of Homely.com.au.
DanG1
DanG1 Agree all the above. Inner city has far more crime.
Jun 21, 2016
experiencet
experiencet IF YOU WANT TO GET ROBBED , THREATENED AND POSSIBLY MURDERED IN WORSE CASE SCENARIO, THEN U CAN MOVE TO MELTON.WHETHER MELTON SOUTH OR NORTH IT IS ALL SAME. IT IS JUST HYPED AS FASTEST GROWING AND CHEAP LEAVING BY THE DEVELOPERS AND ESTATE AGENT BECAUSE IT IS IN THEIR BEST INTEREST. JUST IMAGINE FUTURE OF YOUR CHILDRENS AND THE FRIEND CIRCLE THEY WILL BE GROWING IN. ICE IS COMMON AND THE YOUNGSTER ARE HOOKED ON THEM, ISN'T IT EASY TO FALL UNDER PEER PRESSURE AND JUST TRY IT ONCE.HOW LONG YOU WILL BE ABLE TO PROTECT YOUR LOVED ONE
Nov 30, 2016
annem12
annem12 experiencet
Couldn't agree more. Used to be better in the 90's (although still had a stigma). High crime area now (drugs, robberies, stabbings, gambling). It's a cesspit of drug addicts, thieves, murderers and other violence offenders. Even when we lived there in the 90's, we were burgled once and had an attempted burglary. Our friends in Melton update us on the violence that goes largely unreported in the media.
Dec 04, 2016
mijs
mijs Look depend what class of life you like , Melton is (outer area) the new state is nice, new area with parks and new houses but that you can see only in the new state the rest different story , very hot in summer like country side ,very dry , winter is freezing , is not a tourist area at all , nothing to see , but the rest you need to go and have a look , a lot of Africans are residents in that area , property are very affordable, cheap ,population lower to medium class, life is very slow schools are ok, but would will be far from public transportation,too far from ..transport is terrible , crimes are very high. To far away from the city ,dry and flat, looks terrible
Feb 04, 2017
mijs
mijs Caroline springs is better then Melton for family living ..
Feb 04, 2017
ap4
ap4 Why don't you ask someone who has grown up in Melton and has children living there? Melton is far, far better to raise a family in than most suburbs and the CBD! I would keep it quiet so people who know can invest now and rip the benefits later.
I have lived in inner suburbs and worked at night in the CBD and Prahran .... and I can tell you stories that I saw with my own eyes that you only see in movies! So don't critisize Melton based on statistics alone or on isolated experience.
Mar 09, 2017
rougherr
rougherr I'm the roughest. Add a comment...
Jun 29, 2017
joys2
joys2 Living
Aug 08, 2017
adrianh8
adrianh8 garbage
Nov 05, 2017
Add a comment...
missyjane 2yrs+
Honestly, as someone who has lived there in the past (when I was younger, with my family, before I was old enough to make my escape) it's not that great. It has it's plusses, like decent family shopping, lots of schools and daycare and activities for kids, but these days it has been overrun with less tasteful characters and isn't a nice place to live anymore. My grandfather has lived there for 30+ years, and it's nothing like what it used to be.
The rent is cheap, which is a big plus. I think you should spend some time there before deciding.
5 votes
Report
The opinions expressed here are those of the individual and not those of Homely.com.au.
RockyH 2yrs+
I wouldn't live in Melton ever, horrible place even just to visit.
5 votes
Report
The opinions expressed here are those of the individual and not those of Homely.com.au.
SydneySouthMelbourneS
SydneySouthMelbourneS what part of melton are you talking about ????
2yrs+
mijs
mijs totally agree
Feb 04, 2017
Add a comment...
Rayne12 2yrs+
I live in kurunjang i thought it was ok but at 4:30am saturday morning i had 2 men try to get into my house banging on my door telling me to open up i was suppose to meet them at tabcorp raceway... I told them they have the wrong person and go away. (i didnt open the door)
The 2 men continued banging and repeating themselves.
They left and returned 10 minutes later all over again.. I yelled from my hallway i have called the police now go away... They swore at me and took off fast in a car. I called 000 immediately very shakey and the police only took 6 minutes to arrive.
3 votes
Report
The opinions expressed here are those of the individual and not those of Homely.com.au.
gihan25 2yrs+
make your move now - its the best place to buy property and live now - look at the crime stats from Vic police and you will see melton doing really good.
3 votes
Report
The opinions expressed here are those of the individual and not those of Homely.com.au.
BaysideGal
BaysideGal ARE YOU INSANE??????
It s the number one hot spot for rapes assaults thefts and break in's
REFER TO RACV LISTING and the VIC POLICE website!!
Full to the brim with Vietnamese - they are all unemployed sadly.
2yrs+
gihan25
gihan25 RACV and VIC police wesite shows how safe Melton could be. You should really be checking the site , guess you have not checked this lately as Melton rating is really good - BTW , it is un Australian to put down a community - Also i dont see Vietnamese in Melton as much as i see in other suburbs
2yrs+
TeresaLe
TeresaLe Remember every culture has bad & good people. You may met wrong Vietnamese group that why you said not so very nice at all as "Full to the brim with Vietnamese - they are all unemployed sadly" Re-think! the inner of your own heart, written & mind before you can judge other of different culture. I have known many Vietnamese they work very hard. Most of them getup as early as 4Am in the morning till dawn, and very education people who are working very in variety higher rank in the the society. I have Vietnamese friends who live in Melton, they has shop, their children study in university, and work in health section, social worker, engineering and willing to help & give their earning to poverty and needy. ... There are certain Vietnamese people unemployment because they old, Cant expect them to be in the workforce, but their young kids can work and they do work hard just like many other culture.v..v..
2yrs+
pissdoff61
pissdoff61 I moved to Melton with my partner because house prices were remarkably cheaper than where we were living in the Eastern suburbs of Melbourne. The day we signed the sale contract on our $250k 2 year old home, which would have cost us $450k plus in the Eastern suburbs, we parked next to a car in the parking lot of Coburn Central Shopping Centre, to discover hundreds of cigarette butts on the interior of this owner's car. It was revolting & a sign of things to come. Young hoons in the early morning to wake you up with their dangerous drag way north of Centenary Avenue Roundabout on Coburns Road. Neighbours playing loud music all hours of the day/night & unfriendly neighbours encroaching on your space but leaving their broken down cars all over the footpaths with oil leaks everywhere. Not to mention the rubbish people leave on the ground, is absolutely disgusting. No one has respect there for others & I was verbal abused in Woodgrove Shopping Centre carpark when shopping with my partner, by a disgusting man who called me vulgar names & wanted me to move my car because it was annoying him, when I had parked there first not to annoy anyone. Drugs, rubbish, rapes, shopping trolleys dumped, abusive neighbours, loud music, strange activity at all hours of the day & night, car breakin's at the (supposedly safe railway station carpark), no neighbourhood respect for others privacy or wellbeing... do I need to go on... probably not. If you want a cheap house & don't mind living with the above mentioned conditions then by all means, live in Feralton... oh... I mean Melton... we moved out of there quick smart & wouldn't even go there to shop. You may come back & find your car missing. What an absolute dump Feralton (aka Melton) is. I wouldn't live there if you paid for the property. The council & local government need to improve the area or they will just get more ferals living there. It's a ghetto at the moment. But hey, the houses are cheap to buy.
2yrs+
stephl
stephl lived here 21 years, never encounted any of what you've mentioned. maybe go back to the eastern suburbs.
Nov 02, 2016
rond1
rond1 I've lived in Melton since 1981 - have had two different homes - one in Melton West, and one in Melton Central. Have had excellent neighbours always. Just recently retired, and we intend to live here after we downsize. Raised three children in Melton, and found it to be a good place to raise a family. I suppose if you moved to "some" of the wealthier eastern suburbs, it would probably be better in some ways, but not everyone can afford to do that either. Trouble follows trouble as someone earlier mentioned. If you intend to buy in an area of Melton, check it out thoroughly first. Talk to the neighbours, find out what they think. There are some parts of Melton where I wouldn't buy, but lots of good areas too.
Mar 11, 2017
mariaa8
mariaa8 So where are the good areas in melton?
Mar 22, 2017
rond1
rond1 I've lived the past 22 years in Joan St, centre of Melton. No issues with living here. Previously lived on Argyll Circuit, Melton West - we never had issues there either.
Mar 23, 2017
darrylp1
darrylp1 Geelong is the worst city in all the world to live. Its full of wankers, druggies, drunks , criminals and a spastic dodgy council. People living in geelong are all are all depresed and they are all pro Geelong. The fact they like living in Geelong proves their mentally unwell. The capital for drugs, achohol, criminals and suicides in australia is Geelong by far. It is a 100% truthful fact.
Oct 13, 2017
Add a comment...
gwells6 2yrs+
crime in melton is out of control.....whilst paying for petrol one day i turned around to see two men driving away in my car...sure i shouldnt have left the keys in the ignition but its not the point...i shouldnt have to worry about anyone stealing my prized possession....however i am glad that they are now serving a lengthy sentence
3 votes
Report
The opinions expressed here are those of the individual and not those of Homely.com.au.
nbeez
nbeez Did they fine you for leaving your keys in the car? They should've............
2yrs+
BaysideGal
BaysideGal Yep the threw them inside to mix with more violent criminals
And guess what - they will get a reduced sentence and be back on the streets of Melbourne doing it all over again!!
Criminal Justice System is disgraceful - the offer the criminal his free pass to society because the dumd ass magistrate thinks rehab for the 5th time will the answer .., WRONG look at the dog who allegedly killed & murdered Jill Meagher ADRIAN BAILEY!!!! He was on parole and look what happened!! Its about keeping the bastards behind bars but it simply doesn't happen ,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,
2yrs+
gihan25
gihan25 Have a check on the data in 2011. Even better now

http://house.ksou.cn/profile.php?sta=vic&q=Melton+West&reload=1
2yrs+
gihan25
gihan25 http://house.ksou.cn/suburb_compare.php?r=Melton%20West&sta=VIC&q=Parkdale,%20VIC Go to above link and start to compare - its better to believe what you see
2yrs+
Add a comment...
sue78 2yrs+
I have lived here for 7 years, and am just about to move and get out of here. Its affordable, which is great if your starting out, but thats about it. The schools aren't great, the people can be racist and there is a horrible stigma attached to the area. I have found it to be far, but with the freeway, it's not that bad to the city. The area has limited shopping centres and the town is now HUGE! Too many people. I find it now 'dirty' and the area just doesnt have a nice feel to it. Im glad to be leaving.
3 votes
Report
The opinions expressed here are those of the individual and not those of Homely.com.au.
AngelsCry Nov 30, 2016
You would have to be down and out to move to anywhere in Melton. I thankfully just sold our family home after living there for 28 years. The place is FULL of ICE addicts / drug dealers that have no respect for anyone. Our home was robbed several times, and the police there just can't be bothered even attending after our last home invasion. It may have great shopping centers but that's it... Don't hire any local landscapers, fencers etc, they rock up stoned or high on ice then demand to be paid in cash..
2 votes
Report
The opinions expressed here are those of the individual and not those of Homely.com.au.
SibelY Apr 27, 2016
I live in Melton South racist neigbours they pull down my TV entane removed my nbn cables now they are complaining about my cat wich i about to get it put down when they see me come out of my home all run back in I have don nothing to these people if you die there nobody is going to no they damaged my windows I cant even open them properly I wish I never brought my home from there big lesson for me before buying a home check the neigbours they may look quiet but they got so much hate towards you if they get a chance they would drown you in a glass of water
2 votes
Report
The opinions expressed here are those of the individual and not those of Homely.com.au.
braddaudio 2yrs+
Moved to central Melton last year after living in Brunswick and Essendon areas most of my life.
Its much safer and much quieter in Melton.It has great park lands and a massive shopping centre. South is a little rough but no worse than any outer eastern suburbs.
The only problem is that everyone i know who still live in the inner suburbs like to tell me how bad Melton is.
I figure that most of them have paid 600k plus for the inner areas, so they need to justify that some how..
Yarraville and Footscray are now a popular areas, 10 years ago they were classed as bad areas. All that has really changed is the house prices and more cafes..
2 votes
Report
The opinions expressed here are those of the individual and not those of Homely.com.au.
pablov1
pablov1 loved your 600k comment, so true. i'm potentially moving from sydney to melton west for work. i grew up in a place call merrylands, known as the drive-by capital of Australia.. couldn't be worse than that.
Oct 10, 2016
sp5
sp5 I am planning to move from SYD to Melbourne, most likely Melton South. Don't know much about the area. But heard lots of new houses and being built
Jan 29, 2017
Add a comment...
dfasciani 2yrs+
Don't move there, there is a reason why its cheap!
2 votes
Report
The opinions expressed here are those of the individual and not those of Homely.com.au.
wissamk Sep 16, 2017
Is Roslyn Park Drive in melton west good place?
1 vote
Report
The opinions expressed here are those of the individual and not those of Homely.com.au.
ap4 Mar 23, 2017
I suggest that you live wherever suits you best. Older houses with larger block in central Melton and Melton South, large farm property just outside Melton, newer houses with smaller block in West Melton and areas such as Brookfield etc. My suggestion would be Kurranjang, Melton West or central.
1 vote
Report
The opinions expressed here are those of the individual and not those of Homely.com.au.
DanG1 Jun 21, 2016
I thought to give a 2016 overview of Melton South. I have lived here now for a tear and a half. I have lived all over Melbourne including Richmond, Box Hill, Toorak, St Kilda Rd, Abbotsford, Windsor, Burnside Heights, and Altona North. What I love about Melton South is it is so quiet at night. There's no city hum, and the air just smells fresh. The bird life seems to enjoy it too. I'man IT professional and essentially I could live anywhere just about on my salary but Melton South ticked the boxes for me. I bought my house in cash given they are still undervalued so no mortgage is a hug plus. Why be tied to an interest compounding treadmill all your life when you can free the shackles?

Melton South also has a fantastic shopping Centre (Woodgrove) and just up the road you have the train station, a brand new Coles that is being built and the best Pizza and Fish & Chips shop I have ever tried. And I'm not being biased. I love my Pizza so was more than pleasantly surprised! The Coles complex including surrounding shops (some already finished) are all brand new and very modern, similar to Woodgrove. It was a bit overdue as the old Coles was looking a touch shabby.

Melton in general is also easy to get around with no gridlock you get in poorly planned areas like Sunbury where as soon as the boom gate closes, cars come to a halt like a version of peak hour on CityLink and it's almost impossible to get a car park on the two main shopping strips. Sorry Sunbury but too many people, no infrastructure. Melton on the other hand has plenty of car parking space, and a huge variety of shopping and a Cinema complex.

If you commute to the city, you get to ride on the plush seats of the V Line train that are comfortable and the journey is all but a half hour ride as there are fewer stops in between. Give me Melton South any day and if you are looking for capital growth, wait and see what happens in the next two years. Or if you prefer to drive, during peak hour it's an easy straight run with an average of 80-100km most of the way until you hit the western ring where is slows a bit but nothing like the tedious Monash. Why people put up with the Monash? Horrible, gridlock day in day out. Life is short, and Melton South is like being in the country but with all the infrastructure one could possibly need. And to cap it off you have plenty of sports grounds, kids activities, fishing close by, motor cross, skateboard park, Tabcorp Park if you like the horse races. People who who may bag this place should probably live here and see what they are missing out on! Cheerio Enjoy your city smog and gridlock!
1 vote
Report
The opinions expressed here are those of the individual and not those of Homely.com.au.
WillowT Jun 02, 2016
Brookfield is fine we'll have been here over 5 years and never had a problem if you don't look for trouble and mind your own business it absolutely ok ... People are friendly here it is walking distance to woodgrove shopping centre and the station ...it has lots of sporting facilities i.e. Football , Netball , cricket , soccer , hockey, tennis , basketball, squash , golf ,swimming , equestrian, speed boating ,rugby,dance , callisthenics, the list goes on ...we are a very young demographic most of the population is under 45 in Melton ....I still go out in Melb because it's close enough to catch an Uber home especially if you split the bill . In summer we go to Geelongs beaches or Melbournes ...in winter Daylesford has some nice pub and restaurants with open fires
1 vote
Report
The opinions expressed here are those of the individual and not those of Homely.com.au.
TanK1 2yrs+
Hi. I think the stats quoted need to be taken with a grain of salt. The more visitors to the area the higher the crime rate. The CBD has a high crime rate because you get lots of visitors into the city. The same is true of prahran, Richmond etc. which will skew the details. In my humble opinion, all areas can have positive or negative. Walk through an area, visit etc to get a feel for the area you are thinking about. Also check out local schools etc. this should help in determining if you will feel safe and happy.
1 vote
Report
The opinions expressed here are those of the individual and not those of Homely.com.au.
gihan25 2yrs+
Great place for family
1 vote
Report
The opinions expressed here are those of the individual and not those of Homely.com.au.
BaysideGal 2yrs+
Melton has the highest crime rate in melbourne
1 vote
Report
The opinions expressed here are those of the individual and not those of Homely.com.au.
TeresaLe
TeresaLe R you live in Melton.
I believe everywhere has bad & good people.
2yrs+
NicholasTrifonos
NicholasTrifonos You must be joking, how old are you, you are blowing smoke out your backside... STOP Lying to people with false accusations, where do you derive your statistics? I grew up in Collingwood then moved to Northcote and now in Melton South and I can definitely say Melton looks like a holiday destination in comparison to Collingwood & almost on par with Northcote. But don't take my word for it, here are the stats on an interactive map.

http://www.smh.com.au/data-point/blogs/the-crunch--data-point/crime-in-victoria--get-the-data-20130403-2h639.html

To get you started however and as a point of reference, by crime rate per 100,000 people;

Hawthorn = 7,271
Northcote = 7,347
Hoppers Crossing = 7,770
Sandringham = 8,216
Melton South / Brookfield / Eynsbury / Exford (yes they are combined, same post code) = 8,130
Epping = 10,346
Melton = 10,811
Frankston = 12,877
Prahran = 14,708
South Melbourne = 20,390
Ardeer = 20,432
Campbellfield = 22,535
Collingwood / Fitzroy = 22,951
Melbourne CBD = 65,440

I don't know about anyone else but Melton South looks pretty good to me. Its people like you, with a name like bayside girl (likely a non melton resident) who give Melton a bad Stigma when its not deserved. The stats speak for themselves, People like you add to the Stigma and smart investors use this to keep Melton under the radar as one of Melbourne best kept Secrets. Dirt Cheap with high rental yield, Not too far from Melbourne, Sunbury, Weribee, Geelong, Ballarat, Hepburn Springs, etc.... The area is one of Melbournes fastest growing areas and has one of the best ratios of population to job ratio.

I think people keep giving Melton a bad rep but it truly is a hidden gem that people will likely look back in the future and wonder why they didn't see it becoming a prime position to invest / live, the simple answer will be that they didn't do there homework.

The problem with some people is they look at stats such as the Vic Police website crime stats aka My place found here; http://www.vicpolicenews.com.au/my-place.html

This only highlights the region as a whole despite you typing in your postcode and expecting it to return results being suburb specific, this is where most people get it wrong. In other words what im saying is, when you type the postcode for melton south, the stats will bring up regiona & devision info and will include Melton South, Melton & include a whole bunch of surrounding suburbs that are included in the division and the stats are then compiled, but even then you will see that the Melton (Brimbank) Region isnt as bad as people think.

Melton and surrounds come up as north west metro division 3, there are a total of 4 divisions not including Melbourne CBD (division 1). Division 3 then is identified as Brimbank Region which includes the following Suburbs;
Albanvale, Albion, Ardeer, Brooklyn (shared with the City of Hobsons Bay), Cairnlea, Calder Park, Deer Park, Delahey, Derrimut, Hillside (shared with the Shire of Melton), Kealba, Keilor, Keilor Downs, Keilor East (shared with the City of Moonee Valley), Keilor Lodge, Keilor North, Keilor Park, Kings Park, St Albans, Sunshine (see Sunshine Residents and Ratepayers Association), Sunshine North, Sunshine West, Sydenham, Taylors Lakes, Tullamarine (shared with the Cities of Hume & Moreland)

The total Crime (per 100,000) for Brimbank (Division 3) of North West Metro Region = 7,881.4

That Said, I will show you how wrong many people are about Melton and its surrounds, but keep in mind most people bring up the stats from Vic Police Website and don't zone in on the suburb itself, but again even as a region you will be very surprised with the findings.

Darebin Region which happens to be part of the North West Metro Region but is classed as (division 5)

Suburbs in this region = Alphington (Shared with the City of Yarra), Bundoora (Shared with the Cities of Banyule and Whittlesea), Coburg (Shared with the City of Moreland – A few properties, primarily the eastern side of Elizabeth Street, lie within Darebin), Coburg North (Shared with the City of Moreland – A few properties, primarily the eastern side of Elizabeth Street, lie within Darebin), Fairfield (Shared with the City of Yarra), Kingsbury, Macleod (Shared with the City of Banyule), Northcote, Preston, Reservoir, Thornbury.

So what is the crime per 100,000 in this division?
Darebin crime = 9,696.4

WOW, Thats almost 2,000 more crimes in Darebin. I have lived in Darebin and can tell you I would leave doors unlocked, keys in car, Windows opened. Seriously I felt 100% safe in Northcote. That said individualy Northcote isnt far off in crime per 100,000 than Melton South & I can tell you I feel pretty safe there too. It comes down to this, Trouble Follows Trouble. If you live a Troublesome Life,Id say Trouble will follow you, generally if you dont bother anyone and not an idiot you will generally be OK in any Suburb.

I will list some more regions for comparison (now that you got the drift of how the vic police site presents its data please look up the regions for yourself to see the included suburbs)

SO we already have;

Brimbank Region = 7,881.4
Darebin Region = 9,696.4

Now some others;
Moorabin Region = 6,257.0
Westgate Region = 7,859.9
Fawkner Region = 9,459.6
Frankston Region = 10,407.3
Dandenong Region = 10,527.0
Prahran Region = 10,834.0

As you can See, the Brimbank Region doesn't look so bad after all.

Stop believing the opinions of unqualified people or people who have had a bad experience in the area, There is Good and Bad Everywhere. Be good and people will generally be good to you. Don't attract trouble into your life and there likely will be little trouble in life. Do your own research and and interpret the data properly, You wont often find people like me who work as an analyst (not in real estate, in IT, but nonetheless I'm a sucker for numbers and percentages) and will make life easy by answering your question (Properly might I Add) I back up my word with references.

SO STOP LISTENING TO THE PEOPLE WHO DON'T KNOW SQUAT AND START RESEARCHING FOR YOURSELF.

I really do hope this helps people, nothing worse than making the wrong decision based on false information. At least you have the references to the data and can make a decision for yourselves rather than someone else making it for you. Please do research the links I have provided, they provide valuable insight and disprove the naysayers.

Good luck.
2yrs+
DanG1
DanG1 Move on to 2016 and Melton South is a fantastic place to live! I will attest to that. Love it here! Most underrated place I have lived in. Though fast forward to 2016, maybe all the crims moved to Bayside! Haha... No valuables there though as your life earnings go on your rent or mortgage interest. Clever kids!
Jun 21, 2016
Add a comment...
gihan25 2yrs+
Dont read the reviews from above - look at the crime stats from Vic police and you will realize CBD is the worst place to live. Look at the figures and you will see Melton is by far is pretty safe.The house price will rocket once the new estate and the shopiing centre comes in - remember , in 1980's no one wanted to be in Richmond , now its a diffrent scene. There are many developments going on this area and i put my money here.
1 vote
Report
The opinions expressed here are those of the individual and not those of Homely.com.au.
inthegarage2010
inthegarage2010 Unfortunately I think you may be one of the few who say good things about Melton. I knew people who grew up there and wouldn't want a bar of it anymore. It's a shame as in any suburb there are always undesirables, but it depends on the percentage. There's a reason why you can still buy an established 3 bedroom house for around $250,000.
2yrs+
Add a comment...
unsure 2yrs+
Not for a family its too rough and crime is out of control
1 vote
Report
The opinions expressed here are those of the individual and not those of Homely.com.au.
felixl Oct 02, 2017
I just sold and moved out after growing up there since the 70's.
Ain't a patch on what it was during 80's and 90's.

The area I lived in which as the older part of Brookfield was OK with good neighbours and I had no trouble locally apart from a break in back in 2001

However, Ferals, druggies, just general human trash seems to be moving in and I don't know where it is coming from?!?!

Traffic to and from the city is unbearable during peak hour.

Much happier to be away from the place now which is sad given that I used to love the place.

So glad to be where I am now
0 votes
Report
The opinions expressed here are those of the individual and not those of Homely.com.au.
asdfaa Sep 23, 2017
<p>h
0 votes
Report
The opinions expressed here are those of the individual and not those of Homely.com.au.
gonag Sep 16, 2017
20 years ago no one wanted to go to Brunswick - now you cant even buy a toilet there - Don't ask for old opinions - Just Buy - What is going to be luxury is the travel time to City and the new development and new married people with Kids who are coming in numbers to Melton : Make your move now before it's too late - % years from now prices will double
0 votes
Report
The opinions expressed here are those of the individual and not those of Homely.com.au.
gonag Sep 16, 2017
Melton South and surrounding area is on a growth spurt - Buy now before it becomes too expensive - already houses prices have gone off the roof - I bought a house in 2014 for $240,000 - now it is valued at $410,000. never listen to pessimist and people who have nothing to offer - Lots of my friends bought houses and all of them are winners now - With rail duplication happening it will rice like a rocket
0 votes
Report
The opinions expressed here are those of the individual and not those of Homely.com.au.
rougherr Jun 29, 2017
If you think someone is rough, just make yourself rougher -- easy fix.
0 votes
Report
The opinions expressed here are those of the individual and not those of Homely.com.au.
rougherr Jun 29, 2017
I can find anything rougher cause I am the roughest.
0 votes
Report
The opinions expressed here are those of the individual and not those of Homely.com.au.
jimb9 Apr 15, 2017
Yes absolute truth be told its a offence to be a racist but not a offence to steal where is the Australia I grew up in

paul ejai
0 votes
Report
The opinions expressed here are those of the individual and not those of Homely.com.au.
dontdoita Dec 16, 2016
Don't move here. Crime rate is High and has gotten a hell of a lot worse in the last 2 yrs. Its Cheap for a REASON... cheap = deadbeats, druggies, welfare scrum. And their kids... going to same school as YOURS... = very bad news. Pay higher for a better area of quality of people it hurts the wallet in rent or home loans but thats just money compared to the heart ache of robberies another siege here again, a shooting again other day in Kurunjang - all the blacks here now thieving peoples cars as well and number plates all the time. Cheap for a reason dont forget that. Ok you might get good neighbours, but what about the kids going to same schools as yours ? Issues they cause ? Shopping centre... oh my gosh, how bad are the people there, just come here on a weekend, late fri/sat and look at the streets and type of people you see. Go to woodgrove on a friday night around 8pm and look at how bad people are dressed and all druggies, you cant miss them its the majority of them.
0 votes
Report
The opinions expressed here are those of the individual and not those of Homely.com.au.
richardh6 Dec 15, 2016
Its a great place to live - look at the figures -don't believe what people say - look at the figures and future value.Its a growth area

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/leader/news/melbourne-suburbs-cardinia-and-clyde-have-highest-burglary-rate-racv-statistics-say/news-story/fffc98d35ba3281b9edcbdb1644393d6
0 votes
Report
The opinions expressed here are those of the individual and not those of Homely.com.au.
stephl Nov 02, 2016
want quiet? then go for the older estates! eg.Old kurunjang, coburns rd...
Crime is everywhere, just like their are good and bad, everywhere! choose the neighbourhood and you will be fine! each to their own but i've lived here 21 years and i feel safe walking the streets at night, although if i was to do so in sunshine i wouldn't be so sure! people pull your heads out your asses and lighten up and live a little!
trying to protect your family? try be their with them when they are playing on the streets, like you should be. :)
0 votes
Report
The opinions expressed here are those of the individual and not those of Homely.com.au.
Sanjay Gupta Oct 14, 2016
Guys i recently visited Melton, i found melton south to be over priced just because it is named as development zone, the development houses are small and overpriced, i drove towards North of Melton ( Toolern vale ) which is 5 minute from melton CBD ,very beautiful and posh houses very clean and bigger land and affordable at present, i guarantee in 1 year down the line, i will not be able to afford any in Toolern, I have asked all my mates to start buying near Toolern vale .
Amazing and beautiful.
0 votes
Report
The opinions expressed here are those of the individual and not those of Homely.com.au.
pablov1 Oct 10, 2016
i grew up in a place called merrylands, a place where people have let off shots in front of my place, a guy got shot in the leg a street away from mine, a shoot out happened at a small shopping centre down the road from my place, melton cant be worse than that ?
0 votes
Report
The opinions expressed here are those of the individual and not those of Homely.com.au.
sallya
sallya Drug labs on every corner and shootings all take place in Melton too. Pretty bad if you ask me. Cars constantly getting broken into on my street and strangers trying to enter peoples houses to rob probably for drug money. We have clients who tell us all of the above who have been residents here for years. We moved here 2 yrs ago from Box Hill and so far have had our cars broken into once when parked safely in our driveways and been yelled out and abused on the roads for no apparent reason. Box hill people were much nicer drivers were less crazy and respectful and never hoon like and people never abused me if I looked at their children and smiled. One previous post was right which said if you keep to yourself you will be fine, but why should people fear talking to others and live in fear? seems absurd to me. We will be moving as soon as our house price rises and we can sell and buy something decent in a better suburb. Also the lack of healthy eating options like nice cafes. Melton has at the most 1 or 2 trendier style cafex but here everything is fried and fatty. Doesn't have the well being factor of inner city Melbourne suburbs or the cultural diversity.
Oct 25, 2016
Add a comment...
AmandaC3 2yrs+
I have lived here since 1991. Sure melton has ups and downs but so does other suburbs.one thing I do know is after a tragedy, accident or illness complete strangers band together as a community and help those in need.I am proud to live here and yes it does carry a bad stigma but usually it's the people with teens that have caused trouble here say its shitty!
Good luck!
0 votes
Report
The opinions expressed here are those of the individual and not those of Homely.com.au.
JakeT1 2yrs+
Melton west is ok but kurunjang and melton south is out of control
0 votes
Report
The opinions expressed here are those of the individual and not those of Homely.com.au.

Your answer